NCSE Leaders' Alliance

The NCSE Alliance of Sustainability and Environmental Academic Leaders (NCSE Leaders’ Alliance) brings together over 100 deans, directors, and academic leaders of environmental and sustainability departments, programs, and schools from all NCSE Member Institutions. In addition to the benefits of NCSE membership, participation in the NCSE Leaders’ Alliance provides a valuable peer network for academic leaders to improve the quality and effectiveness of environmental and sustainability higher education programs, research, curricula, and workforce development. The NCSE Leaders’ Alliance convenes within and across the three Member Networks to create and foster cooperative efforts across all NCSE Member Institutions; federal, tribal, state, and local agencies; community-based organizations; and the private sector. Formerly known as the NCSE Council of Environmental Deans and Directors (CEDD) and the NCSE Community College Alliance for Sustainability Education (CCASE), the NCSE Leaders’ Alliance now captures both CEDD and CCASE and includes the expansion of academic leaders beyond deans and directors as the landscape of sustainability education has continued to evolve and grow. 

The NCSE Leaders' Alliance of each Member Network is led by an Executive Committee. 


College and University Network
Leaders’ Alliance
Executive Committee

Formerly the Council of Environmental Deans and Directors (CEDD) Executive Committee

Chair, Peter Walker
Dean and Professor, Falk School of Sustainability
Chatham University

Immediate Past Chair, Roderic Parnell
Professor of Earth Sciences and Environmental Sustainability
Northern Arizona University

Incoming Chair


Members at Large

Alonso Aguirre
Chair and Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Policy
George Mason University

Christopher Boone
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Dean and Professor, School of Sustainability
Arizona State University

Christopher D'Elia
Dean and Professor, College of Coast and Environment
Louisiana State University

Gwendelyn Geidel
Undergraduate Director, School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
University of South Carolina

Reto Gieré
Professor and Department Chair, Department of Earth and Environmental Science
University of Pennsylvania

Diane Husic
Dean, School of Natural and Health Sciences and Professor of Biological Sciences
Moravian College

Valerie Luzadis
Professor of Social-Ecological Systems and Ecological Economics
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Jean Mangun
Professor and Department Head of Environmental Studies and Sciences
Siena College

Marty Matlock
Executive Director, University of Arkansas Resiliency Center and Professor of Ecological Engineering
University of Arkansas

Richard Moore
Emeritus Professor, School of Environment and Natural Resources
The Ohio State University

Colin Orians
Director of Environmental Studies and Professor of Biology
Tufts University

Tom Richard
Director, Institutes of Energy and the Environment
Penn State University

Karen Spiller
Thomas W. Haas Professor in Sustainable Food Systems
The University of New Hampshire

Jennie Stephens
Associate Director, Global Resilience Institute
Northeastern University


Community College Network
Leaders’ Alliance
Executive Committee

Formerly the Community College Alliance for Sustainability Education (CCASE) Executive Committee

Chair, Robert Franco
Director, Office for Institutional Effectiveness
Kapi'olani Community College

Incoming Chair, Maria Boccalandro
Sustainable Communities Institute Director
Cedar Valley College
Dallas County Community College District

Immediate Past Chair, Stephen Summers
Associate Vice President, School of Arts and Sciences
Seminole State College of Florida