NCSE Lifetime Achievement Award

The NCSE Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual or group of individuals in recognition of their exceptionally meritorious contribution to science and the environment. The award honors those who have made a significant impact to our community through research, education, diplomacy, and/or innovative technologies. Past recipients include prime ministers, distinguished professors, and renowned scientists. View the full list of past recipients


2020 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient 

Dr. Michael Crow


Michael M. Crow, President, Arizona State University

Dr. Michael M. Crow is an educator, knowledge enterprise architect, science and technology policy scholar, and higher education leader. He became the sixteenth president of Arizona State University (ASU) in July 2002 and has spearheaded ASU’s rapid and groundbreaking transformative evolution into one of the world’s best public metropolitan research universities. As a model “New American University,” ASU simultaneously demonstrates comprehensive excellence, inclusivity representative of the ethnic and socioeconomic diversity of the United States, and consequential societal impact.

Lauded as the "#1 most innovative" school in the nation by U.S. News & World Report, ASU is a student-centric, technology-enabled university focused on complex global challenges related to sustainability, economic competitiveness, social embeddedness, entrepreneurship, and global engagement. Under Dr. Crow’s leadership, ASU has established 24 new transdisciplinary schools, including the School of Earth and Space Exploration, the School for the Future of Innovation in Society, and the School of Human Evolution and Social Change, and launched trailblazing multidisciplinary initiatives including the Biodesign Institute, the Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability, and important initiatives in the humanities and social sciences.


Previous Recipients


Paul Hawken, Founder and Writer, Project Drawdown
Julia Marton-Lefèvre, Former Director General, International Union for Conservation of Nature

2018 Edward Mazria, Founder and CEO, Architecture 2030
Robert B. Semple, Jr., Associate Editor of the Editorial Page, The New York Times
2017 Philip Landrigan, Dean for Global Health, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Thomas E. Lovejoy, University Professor of Environmental Science and Policy, George Mason University
2016 Rita R. Colwell, Distinguished Professor, University of Maryland and Former Director, NSF
Veerabhadran “Ram” Ramanathan, Distinguished Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
2015 Stephen Hubbell, Distinguished Professor, University of California, Los Angeles                                                        
Tom Tidwell,  Deputy Regional Forester for Fire and Aviation Management, Recreation, Engineering, State and Private Forestry

Co-founders, U.S. Global Change Research Program:

Robert Corell, Principal, Global Environment Technology Foundation
J. Michael Hall, Federal Senior Executive Services (Ret.); Former Director, Office of Global Programs, NOAA
Shelby Tilford, Former Chief Scientist, Orbital Sciences Corporation 
Aristides A. N. Patrinos, Deputy Director for Research, Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University’s Polytechnic Institute
Jack D. Fellows, Director, Climate Change Science Institute, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

2013 Jane Lubchenco, Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and Administrator, NOAA 
2012 Gro Harlem Brundtland, former Prime Minister of Norway and Director-General, World Health Organization
2011 Sylvia Earle, Explorer-in-residence, National Geographic; Founder, Mission Blue; Chairman & CEO, Sylvia Earle Alliance
2010 Herman E. Daly, Vanderbilt University, LSU’s Distinguished Research Master Award Recipient
2009 George Rabb, President Emeritus, Chicago Zoological Society
Peter H. Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden  
Edward O. Wilson, Pellegrino Research Professor Emeritus, Harvard University 
2008 Robert W. Corell, Global Change Director, The H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and the Environment
2007 Theo Colborn, President, The Endocrine Disruption Exchange
Herbert Needleman, Professor of Child Psychiatry and Pediatrics, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
2006 Russell Train, Chairman Emeritus, World Wildlife Fund; First Chair, Council on Environmental Quality; Former Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
2005 William D. Ruckelshaus, First and Fifth Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
2004 Ruth Patrick, Francis Boyer Chair of Limnology, Academy of Natural Sciences in Philadelphia; Adjunct Professor, University of Pennsylvania
M. Gordon “Reds” Wolman, B. Howell Griswold Jr. Professor of Geography and International Affairs, The Johns Hopkins University
2003 Honorable Gaylord Nelson, Former Governor of Wisconsin and U.S. Senator (Ret.); Founder of Earth Day, Counselor of The Wilderness Society
2001 Maurice F. Strong, Senior Advisor to the United Nations Secretary-General