CEDD Leadership

Council of Environmental Deans and Directors

Each member school can designate two representatives to participate in the Council of Environmental Deans and Directors (CEDD). CEDD provides input and perspective on priorities of the member institutions.

CEDD is guided by the CEDD Executive Committee (CEDDEx), comprised of 10 to 12 individuals including one of the co-chairs from each Community of Practice. The CEDD Executive Committee provides leadership and strategic direction to CEDD and the University Affiliate Program. View a chart (PDF) summarizing the organizational structure of the University Affiliate Program and CEDD.

The CEDD Executive Committee is led by a Chair and supported by the Immediate Past Chair and the Incoming Chair. The Chair of CEDD also sits on NCSE’s Board of Directors.

CEDD representatives can nominate others or themselves as a candidate for CEDDEx. If you are interested in joining CEDDEx or would like to nominate an individual to join, contact NCSE.

2018-2019 CEDD Executive Committee

Chair, Peter Walker
Dean and Professor, Falk School of Sustainability
Chatham University

Immediate Past Chair, Roderic Parnell
Professor of Earth Sciences and Environmental Sustainability
Northern Arizona University

Incoming Chair

Members at Large

Alonso Aguirre
Chair and Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Policy
George Mason University

Christopher Boone
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Dean and Professor, School of Sustainability
Arizona State University

Christopher D'Elia
Dean and Professor, College of Coast and Environment
Louisiana State University

Gwendelyn Geidel
Undergraduate Director, School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
University of South Carolina

Reto Gieré
Professor and Department Chair, Department of Earth and Environmental Science
University of Pennsylvania

Diane Husic
Dean, School of Natural and Health Sciences and Professor of Biological Sciences
Moravian College

Valerie Luzadis
Professor of Social-Ecological Systems and Ecological Economics
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Jean Mangun
Professor and Department Head of Environmental Studies and Sciences
Siena College

Marty Matlock
Executive Director, University of Arkansas Resiliency Center and Professor of Ecological Engineering
University of Arkansas

Richard Moore
Emeritus Professor, School of Environment and Natural Resources
The Ohio State University

Colin Orians
Director of Environmental Studies and Professor of Biology
Tufts University

Tom Richard
Director, Institutes of Energy and the Environment
Penn State University

Dork Sahagian
Lehigh University

Karen Spiller
Thomas W. Haas Professor in Sustainable Food Systems
The University of New Hampshire

Jennie Stephens
Associate Director, Global Resilience Institute
Northeastern University